Timeline: Independent Canadian Members of Parliament

Luke McGrath / October 22, 2019

Jody Wilson-Raybould won her seat as an independent.

(Twitter / @Puglaas)

In an historic federal election last night, Jody Wilson-Raybould was re-elected as the Member of Parliament for the Vancouver-Granville riding. However she did not win the seat for the Liberal Party of Canada. Wilson-Raybould ran as an independent candidate, and will be the only independent to hold a seat in the minority government that will be formed as a result of this election. Very few MPs have won seats while running independently.

Here is a look back at some of the most notable MPs to successfully run as independents.